Call for Works 2022

Works for Saxophone and Electronics

Deadline: October 31 • Now Closed

The Chicago Composers’ Consortium invites composers to submit a piece for solo saxophone with or without electronics to be performed by world-renowned saxophonist Drew Whiting ( The concert will take place in Ganz Hall at Roosevelt University in downtown Chicago on February 18th 2023. The winner will receive a performance by Drew Whiting as part of The Chicago Composers’ Consortium 2023 concert season. A $200 honorarium will be awarded to the winner. The competition is open both to new works and those previously performed. The Chicago Composers’ Consortium encourages applications from historically underrepresented groups or communities.

Duration: 5 to 10 minutes
Instrumentation: solo saxophone (soprano, alto, tenor or baritone) and fixed media or live processing*
Entry Fee: $15
Deadline Extended: October 31, 2022 • Closed

Submission Details

  • Please send a single PDF document containing the following (File name: LASTNAME_FIRSTNAME_INFO.pdf.). The file should contain:
    1. Composition title
    2. Any pertinent technical details
    3. The link to an online file or stream of the piece, audio or midi realization (no expiration date please)
    4. Composer’s contact info (name, email address, phone number)
    5. Bio (maximum 150 words)
    6. Short program note (maximum 150 words)
    7. The score as a pdf (combined or as a separate file)
  • The $15 (USD) fee will be payable ONLY via the payment link.

Emailed payments will not be accepted.

The winner will be notified by email on November 30, 2022. (Originally November 20, but altered due to the extended deadline)

• Questions may be addressed

* Please check our FAQ for updates



Q: May I email my PayPal payment?
A: Unfortunately, no. We cannot accept emailed PayPal payments for this competition. Please use our simple form instead.

Q: Should ? include the score as a separate pdf?
A: You may include the score as a separate pdf rather than combining it with the other page(s) of your application.