2024 Call for Scores

Chicago Composers’ Consortium Brass Quintet Competition 2023–2024

The Chicago Composers’ Consortium seeks works by composers of any age or nationality for brass quintet. Compositions may have been previously performed. Our intent is to promote the work of composers whose work is not widely known.

  • Works for standard brass quintet: 2 trumpet, horn, trombone, tuba
  • Ten minutes or less in duration
  • Composers may submit only one composition
  • Composition may be previously performed or a new work
  • Composers may be of any age or nationality
  • Composers are encouraged, but not required, to attend
  • Attending winner will receive a stipend of $250
  • Application fee of $15
  • Deadline for submission has been extended to: February 1, 2024

The winner will be announced on April 1, 2024. The winning composition will be performed by AXIOM BRASS https://www.axiombrass.com in a concert co- sponsored by Chicago Composers Consortium and Axiom Brass at Epiphany Center for the Arts in Chicago on May 23, 2024.
Submission Guidelines:

  • PDF file of the score (labeled in the format LASTNAME_TITLE.pdf; example: SMITH_SONATA.pdf)
  • A separate pdf (labeled in the format LASTNAME_FIRSTNAME_info.pdf) with the composer’s name, composition title, composer’s contact details, composer biography, brief program note and a link to an online file or stream of an audio file of the piece if possible
  • Include any links to audio in BOTH the info PDF and the body of your submission email.
  • If no link is available: an mp3 of piece (labeled LASTNAME_TITLE.mp3)
  • Application fee of $15, see below

Please zip all materials and send as one zip file to: scores@c3composers.org [ scores@c3composers.org ] (corrected link)
Include any external links (soundcloud, etc.) in the body of your email.

Application Fee:
The application fee of $15 is only payable via this PayPal link, not by email. Do not email a PayPal payment as it cannot be accepted.
Questions may be addressed to: scores@c3composers.org