2017-2018 season

Our line up of concerts will feature our usual wide range of music from members of the group as well as guest composers with a local emphasis.

CCC and guests - Friday, October 20, 2017

Our first program will be on Friday, October 20 at North Shore Baptist Church in Andersonville. The warm acoustics of this space are the perfect setting for an evening of smaller chamber works, using flute, clarinet, violin, cello, guitar and piano. We will feature three guest composers who are good friends of the Consortium – George Flynn, Marta Ptaczynska and Randall West. In addition, Lawrence Axelrod’s Mandala, Elizabeth Start’s Assisi Impressions and Timothy Johnson’s Solitary Confinement will be performed.

Two Cellos: Electro-Acoustic music with guest Craig Hultgren – Sunday, March 18, 2018

March 18 will bring our annual celebration of electroacoustic music, this year dubbed Cello-stravaganza. We will be joined by new music expert cellist Craig Hultgren. He and our very own Elizabeth Start will perform works for cello and piano, two cellos and cello with electronics. Craig will play guest composer Mischa Zupko’s recent work Fallen. Our other guest, Seung-Won Oh, will present a new work for two cellos. The concert will also hold pieces by Lawrence Axelrod, Timothy Johnson and Kathleen Ginther.

Lakeshore Rush – Sunday, May 6, 2018

Our final concert will be on Sunday, May 6 in the beautiful setting of Ganz Hall. We will team up with the exciting young ensemble Lakeshore Rush. Comprised of the now-venerable combination of flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano and percussion, the group will perform works by CCC composers Beth Bradfish, Kyong Mee Choi, Laura Schwendinger, and Timothy Edwards. In addition, they will play the winning composition from our competition for this event: The Spanish Speakers by Amos Gillespie.

Sunday, May 6
2:30 PM
Ganz Hall 430 S Michigan Ave.
Donations accepted

We hope to see you at all of these exciting programs to experience the great compositional panache and wide range of styles that is the Chicago Composers’ Consortium!